Architecture and learning to think green

Alexis Monjauze, a registered architect (DPLG) specialising in green construction, has many a journey under his belt. He offers us a tour of responsible materials such as hempcrete. And what’s the end goal? Architecture that meets the French high environmental quality standard (HQE) for green building. Let’s jump on board now!

BCB Tradical® interview with Alexis Monjauze on 13 June 2018 during the 6th edition of the Tradical® Regional Conference held in Sayat, France.

 

BCB: What training and career path have you followed?

Alexis Monjauze: After my baccalaureate and a diploma in civil engineering, I went to an architecture school, where I took three years out to work on building sites and travel around Europe (Eastern Europe, Spain, Italy, etc.). These trips broadened my architectural culture. I then worked with various associations (environmental awareness-raising) in Lyon. After that, I worked for six years with contracting authorities in the public sector in Puy-en-Velay.

I opened my own agency there in 2005. Today, we’re a team of five!

 

BCB: What made you choose green construction?

AM: My parents! They were entrepreneurs. They passed on the idea of respect for the environment, along with a sense of individual responsibility (being aware of the impact of our actions).

 

BCB : Architecture, pourquoi avoir choisi cette voie ?

AM: I’ve always been fascinated by architecture; it was my thing. But not at any price! It was plain to me that the building industry as it stands today is bad for the environment. I didn’t want to contribute to this generalised collective madness. That’s why I did quite a few different jobs before setting up my own company. I can only see myself working towards HQE-standard green construction, even if this market only accounts for 10% of the whole construction sector.

‘People don’t realise the impact of their decisions when they buy, build, etc. They are inevitably contributing to one type of economic system or another (wastage or recycling). We don’t speak enough about the impact of eco-friendly materials on the health system’.

 

BCB: How did you discover hempcrete?

AM: One day, a builder offered to cast a hempcrete screed. I dug out some old architecture school documents that had interested me a lot at the time and looked into the subject. I had a first try at hempcrete in 2007. I then worked with a company experienced in hempcrete to offer it as a solution for one of my clients in 2009.

 

BCB: What benefits of hempcrete caught your attention?

AM: Simplicity! You only use one material for the whole wall. And I loved its truly natural feel too. Speaking from experience, it’s great in terms of acoustics and provides a cosy, mellow atmosphere.

‘There’s something about hempcrete, but you can’t quite put your finger on it. It’s just very restful.’

 

BCB: How do you go about recommending this material to your clients?

AM: I just offer to use the material and most of the time my clients accept! I’ve had to find builders who know how to handle it though: some building projects were a bit difficult to manage as this material requires real expertise. Thankfully, more and more builders are hempcrete-trained now and have acquired experience. Hempcrete first appeared about 30-40 years ago, so it’s relatively new.

It’s the material we get the most positive feedback on from our clients!

 

BCB: Have you got an anecdote to share with us?

AM: Yes. Once, I met clients who were intrigued by the thermal regulations for building their house. I explained to them that they didn’t actually need to install central heating. They remained sceptical.

The moral of this story is that today, regulations oblige you to insulate your house, but not enough for you to get rid of your heating completely. If we were to insulate just a little more with materials such as hempcrete, we could greatly reduce the need for heating and air conditioning!

amet, diam Lorem Donec in Aliquam suscipit id sit

Architecture et prise de conscience environnementale

architecture et environnement

Alexis Monjauze, architecte DPLG en écoconstruction, voyageur engagé. Il nous emmène sur la route des matériaux sains comme le béton de chanvre. Sa destination finale: l’architecture en écoconstruction HQE. Embarquement immédiat !

Interview d’Alexis Monjauze le 13 06 2018 par BCB Tradical® lors de la 6ème Rencontre Régionale Tradical® – Sayat (dpt 63)

 

BCB : Votre formation et parcours professionnel ?

AM : Après un bac et un DUT Génie civil, j’ai fait une école d’architecture que j’ai interrompue par 3 années de chantiers et de voyages en Europe (Europe de l’est, Espagne, Italie…) Les voyages ont élargi ma culture architecturale. J’ai ensuite travaillé dans le milieu associatif (sensibilisation à l’environnement) à Lyon. Puis j’ai une expérience de 6 ans dans la maitrise d’ouvrages publiques à Puy-en-Velay (43).

J’ai ouvert mon agence en 2005 au même endroit. Aujourd’hui, nous sommes 5 !

 

BCB : qu’est ce qui a déclenché votre orientation vers l’écoconstruction ?

AM : Ce sont mes parents ! Ils étaient chefs d’entreprise. Ils m’ont transmis la notion de respect de l’environnement et le sens de la responsabilité individuelle (la conséquence de nos actes).

 

BCB : Architecture, pourquoi avoir choisi cette voie ?

AM : L’architecture m’a toujours beaucoup intéressé, c’était ma fibre à moi. Mais pas à n’importe quel prix ! La première évidence pour moi a été de voir que le bâtiment tel qu’il est aujourd’hui est néfaste pour l’environnement. Je n’ai pas envie de participer à cet égarement collectif généralisé ! C’est pour ça que j’ai fait pas mal de boulots avant de monter mon entreprise. Je n’envisage de travailler que dans un objectif d’écoconstruction HQE même si ce marché représente –de 10% dans le bâtiment.

« Les gens n’ont pas conscience de l’impact de leurs choix quand ils achètent, construisent… ce choix va favoriser une forme d’économie (gaspillage ou recyclage). On ne parle pas assez de l’impact des Eco matériaux sur le système de santé »

 

BCB : Comment avez-vous découvert le béton de chanvre ?

AM : Un jour un artisan m’a proposé de faire un dallage en béton de chanvre. J’avais gardé une documentation de l’école d’architecture qui m’avait bien plu., et je me suis penché sur le sujet. Je me suis essayé au béton de chanvre une première fois en 2007. Puis j’ai travaillé avec une entreprise qui maitrise bien ce matériau pour le proposer à un client en 2009.

 

BCB : Quelles sont les qualités du béton de chanvre qui ont attiré votre attention ?

AM : La simplicité ! On a qu’un seul matériau pour composer la paroi. Et son aspect complétement naturel aussi. A l’expérience c’est vraiment très agréable au niveau acoustique, très doux en terme d’ambiance.

« Il se dégage une chose de ce matériau béton de chanvre qui est inexplicable, c’est très apaisant »

 

BCB : Comment conseillez-vous ce matériau à vos clients ?

AM : Tout simplement je le propose et c’est assez souvent accepté ! J’ai du trouver des artisans pour le faire : Les chantiers ont parfois été difficiles car c’est un matériau qui n’est pas toujours bien maitrisé. Heureusement aujourd’hui de plus en plus d’entreprises sont formées et ont de l’expérience. Les premiers bétons de chanvre ont 30/40 ans c’est récent.

C’est sur ce matériau qu’on a les meilleurs retours clients en terme de satisfaction !

 

BCB : Une anecdote ?

AM : Oui, un jour j’ai rencontré des clients qui étaient intrigués par la réglementation thermique pour la construction de leur maison individuelle. Je leur ai expliqué qu’ils n’étaient pas du tout obligés d’avoir un chauffage central. Ils sont restés dubitatifs.

La morale de cette histoire, c’est qu’aujourd’hui la règlementation vous oblige à isoler mais pas assez pour supprimer le chauffage complètement ! Si on isole un petit peu plus notamment grâce au béton de chanvre, on réduit de façon importante le poste chauffage/climatisation !

Sed ut ut tristique vulputate, dictum Donec leo felis adipiscing ipsum elementum